Fantastic, brilliant. Been listening to this for weeks now and every time it just lifts me up. Great piece altogether.

cimmeon, CTGMusic

Studio Notes

Discovery has several distinguishable parts that describe a story of a crew aboard a ship sailing the sea in search of a new life. This could be an allegory for the huge life changing events that happened between 1998 to 2004.

The escape from England UK to start a new life in the Netherlands, the first difficult year unemployed and somewhat home sick, the culture clash, the social isolation – all of this had an impact on my psyche.

The greatest thing happened in 2003 and that was marrying my fiancee of 5 years, it was a vividly memorable time especially since Ilona-Ruby had been walked down the aisle by her father to Kyria.

Discovery didn’t take very long to make, taking approximately a week to compose. No time was spent in post production- as I was not actually aware of how to do that on my clunky studio set-up. The recording had been done in one single take from the instruments playing in realtime from the computer sequencer.

I hope to be able to re-record Discovery at some point to be able to do it the justice it deserves, production-wise.

  • 00:00 – The Adventureous Ones 
  • 02:00 – Goodbye 
  • 02:35 – Calm Waters 
  • 04:45 – Storm on the Horizon 
  • 05:20 – Riding the High Tides 
  • 07:02 – Drifting 
  • 07:35 – The Glorious New Land

Equipment used:

  • Roland XP60 Workstation
  • Korg Z1 Synth
  • Korg Triton Classic Workstation
  • Nord Rack I Synth
  • Emu ESI4000 Turbo Sampler
  • Mackie 1604 VLZ PRO Mixer
  • Emagic AMT8 MIDI Patchbay
  • Lexicon MPX 100 Digital Processor
  • PC 933Mhz Celeron 1GB
  • Terratec EWX 24/96 Soundcard

Cover Art

14 Jan 2006

A Review of “Discovery”

What can I say about this tune? 

The pick of 2004 and 2005 for me, in many many ways and unless something staggering as this is released in 2006, then this will be my pick of this year too!. 

I commented quite early on about the wonder of this tune, however I declined to review at that time….

Now, after over a year of ear orgasms, I can finally say what I feel about this track… It warms me from the insides, all the way through my body… the sound is amazingly full and vibrant.

There are quite a few chapters to this tale of discovery, and each one is different, telling a wonderful story from setting out to sail, to beautiful nights under stars (at least thats where ‘calm waters’ takes me too!) , to ravaging storms, to finally finding the promised land….

Despite the different tempos and styles, the entire piece fits together seamlessly, and each telling its part amazingly well. Riding the high tide is totally fantastic – and at first I really didn’t appreciate this part as much as I do now…

Melodically (is that a word?) this piece is perhaps the high point of the track – no coincidences that its also in the central section of the track…

The thing is – with such a high powered part right in the middle like that, how could the tune continue to keep the listener interested after it was over?. Simple, the accordian piece that follows is as glorious as it is interesting, and keeps a genuine full 100% interest in the tune….

I just cannot get enough of each of the different parts….

Coupled together with a low-key, yet ‘victorious’ ending, which winds down the whole adventure perfectly. 

Musically, there is something here for everyone. There are techno-like parts at the start, with dreamy romantic music following, which is undoubtably ‘cute’. Following that there is some rock opera that finishes on a synthlead high…. then folk music, and a neat orchestral ending. Its startling how it all works together. It does though, and fantastically well. 

Technically, all I can say is the mixing is awesome, the sound quality is fantastic, and that Redheat really knows his way around his synths/samplers and stuff. 

Brilliant stuff, one that I will keep forever in my collection.

By Martin Kilner aka Slammy

Performed By: Redheat

Album UPC: 194171475498

ISRC: ushm21987501

Label: Sonic Soundscapes

Released: 2006-01-01 (First release 2004)

BPM: 140

Year: 2006

Genre: New Age, Symphonic Electronica